top of page
Search
  • Amanda Ngubo

The great have fallen

Updated: Jan 14, 2022

Disclaimer alert: this is more of a 'vent post' than it is a blog post.

Recently, well actually for a couple of years now, I have been sitting and soothing my frustration and great disappointment of the shoe industry.

I mean, I remember growing up playing with my mom's stiletto, platform, kitten heels and my personal favorite; court heels. I remember promising myself that when I grow up I'll go all out and satisfy my shoe addiction. But fast forward to my 20's, sadly that has all changed.


As a matter of fact, I'd like to share a recent shopping encounter I experienced. I was at a popular retail store, shopping for some classic black heels. One would surely think that wouldn't be difficult, right? Well, whilst browsing and searching for the pair of shoes, I came to the shocking realization that what I was looking for was non-existent, I unconsciously vocally uttered my frustration and vowed to start my own shoe brand!,Well, little did I know, a lady next to me responded by vowing to stop all this mediocre shoe purchases she's been making and support my shoe line as she figured it would be better than anything currently in the market. Which got me thinking about really starting my own shoe brand. But back to the matter at hand...


Where are all the shoes worthy of purchase!? Look, fashion is constantly evolving, and designers from everywhere are constantly looking back at the past for inspiration and new ideas. But it looks as if we've reached a plateau. There just aren't any great creation out there, the ones that make you say "screw it, rent can wait, I need these".

I mean sure you'll get your occasional sock boots, chic scandal highs, which I must admit are BOMB! but not bomb enough to get one evicted due to failure of paying rent because they spent their rent money on a pair of shoes.

 

70s "inspired"

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page